Fashion Tribe

HFM: Nominees for the Governor's Fashion Awards

October 24th, 2013


David "Pua" Rochlen Jr. of Surf Line Hawaii/Jams World is the Lifetime Achievement Honoree for the Governor's Fashion Awards taking place Oct. 30 as the finale to the inaugural Hawai'i Fashion Month. Rochlen carries on the legacy of his father, who championed the Hawaii surf and lifestyle brand across the nation in the photo

A triumphant inaugural Hawai'i Fashion Month will come to a close Oct. 30 with the presentation of the 2013 Governor's Fashion Awards at The MODERN Honolulu.

The event starts at 7 p.m. If you're in the biz, tickets to the can't miss event also celebrating the 60th anniversary of 'Iolani Sportwear, 50th anniversary of Hilo Hattie's, and 10th anniversary of Fighting Eel are $125 at

Congratulations to all the nominees and good luck Wednesday! See you there!

Lifetime Achievement Honoree: David "Pua" Rochlen, Surf Line Hawaii and Jams World


Established Designer of the Year
Rona Bennett and Lan Chung, Fighting Eel
Lisa Cabrinha, Letarte Swimwear
David "Pua" Rochlen, Jr., Surf Line Hawaii, Ltd. (Jams World)

Emerging Designer of the Year
Matt Bruening, Matt Bruening
Deborah Mascia, Mu‘umu‘u Heaven
Cora Spearman, Coradorables

Major Retailer of the Year
Don Kang, Hilo Hattie CEO/President
Brian Tatsumura, Nordstrom store manager
Al Tomonari, Neiman Marcus general manager

Boutique Retailer of the Year
Deborah Mascia, Mu‘umu‘u Heaven
Rick Ralston, Rix Island Wear
Pua Rochlen, Jams World

Designer, Contemporary
Amos Kotomori, Amos Kotomori
Bernard Foong, Bernard Foong
Ari South, Andy South

Designer, Aloha
Jamie Makasobe, Kealopiko LLC
Sue Melinda Pearson, Pili Design
Cora Spearman, Coradorables

Designer, Couture/Formal
Anne Namba, Anne Namba Designs
Feliz Salas, Feliz Salas
Ari South, Andy South

Designer, Jewelry
Amber Chesebro, Salty Girl Jewelry
Jason Dow, Jason Dow, Inc.
Kaylin Laeha, Panacea Designs

Photographer of the Year
Harold Julian, Harold Julian Photography
Mellie Tjoeng, Mellie Tjoeng Photography
Dallas Nagata White, DNW LLC

Wardrobe Stylist of the Year
Geremy Campos, Geremy Campos stylist/fashion editor
Amos Kotomori, Amos Kotomori, Ltd.
Kim Smith, Kim Smith Stylist

Beauty Professional of the Year
Dhyana Leung, Face Art Beauty
Paul Brown, Paul Brown Salon
Tania de Jesus, Beauty by Tania

Outstanding Professional
Paul Brown, Paul Brown Salon, owner
Terri Funakoshi, Pomare, dba Hilo Hattie EVP, CMO
Don Kang, Hilo Hattie CEO/President

2 Responses to “HFM: Nominees for the Governor's Fashion Awards”

  1. Pete:

    Why is this called the "Hawaii governors awards?" Most of these companies don't actually make anything in Hawaii! I guess "designed in Hawaii" using overseas labor now counts as much as "made in Hawaii"

  2. Nadine Kam:

    The companies can better speak for themselves, but many are committed to manufacturing in state, although not 100 percent, because that would be a losing proposition due to shipping, labor, real estate values, and all the general costs of living in "paradise," familiar to every resident. It would be virtually impossible to manufacture 100 percent in Hawaii and be competitive with the global juggernauts that manufacture overseas. While I was in Bangkok this summer, I found that workers there earn about $300 to $500 a month. That wouldn't fly here.

Leave a Reply

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email

Recent Posts

Recent Comments